Del Valle ISD held its Convocation on Thursday, Aug. 22nd, at the Del Valle High School gymnasium to celebrate the upcoming academic school year. In addition to student performances, U.S. Congressman Lloyd Doggett and State Senator Judith Zaffirini shared inspiring stories and words of encouragement with the more than 1,500 district employees.

“I was pleased to join our Del Valle Cardinals in launching another successful school year,” said Doggett, “It’s great to see such enthusiasm from the teachers, staff, and administrators committed to the students’ success.”

Senator Zaffirini honored five DVISD teachers by awarding them the Teachers College Student Loan Debt Grant funded by her son, Carlos Zaffirini, Jr. each for $2,000. The teachers receiving this award were Krystal Mercado, a 1st-grade teacher at Smith Elementary; Johari Templin, an Exploring Careers teacher at Dailey Middle School; Victor Nava, a bilingual 4th-grade teacher at Creedmoor Elementary; Sandra Zills, a 5th-grade teacher at Gilbert Elementary; and Tenesha Morris, a Pre-K teacher at Hornsby-Dunlap Elementary.  All recipients of the grants were Del Valle graduates with more than five years of teaching experience.

Del Valle Elementary School received the Attendance Award for the 2018-2019 school year and Ojeda Middle School was awarded the coveted Spirit Stick.


    2019 Convocation Cheer   2019 Convocation Dance    

 2019 Convocation Senator Doggett     2019 Convocation Grant Winners